Aurora Sports Hall of Fame postpones 2020 Celebration Induction Dinner May 20, 2020


The 2020 inductees into the Aurora Sports Hall of Fame (ASHoF) will have to wait for another year to be recognized.

In a recent meeting, the Board of Governors unanimously approved a motion that would “indefinitely postpone the 2020 Induction Dinner and not release the names of the 2020 Inductees”.

“The health and welfare of our inductees, their families and friends, patrons, staff, volunteers and suppliers remain front of mind, and given the continued uncertainty relating to when groups could gather safely and without restriction, the ASHoF and its board of governors felt this postponement was the most responsible and prudent course of action” said Javed S. Khan, Chair of the Board of Governors for ASHoF.

Options to possibly hold the event virtually were explored, however the Board of Governors felt a virtual event would not provide the appropriate attention to the 2020 Inductees as it has been for past inductees.

“It is my pleasure to report that the Selection Panel and the Induction Committee have recently completed their review of all nominations that were submitted for the 2020 Induction. With the recent decision by the Board of Governors to defer the 2020 Induction proceedings, we look forward to celebrating the announcement when a new Induction date has been determined.” adds Stephen Forsey, Chair of the Induction Committee.

Those selected will carry forward and be announced once a new date is confirmed.


About the Aurora Sports Hall of Fame
The Aurora Sports Hall of Fame was established in November, 2013 by Sport Aurora and with the financial support of the Ontario Trillium Foundation. The Aurora Sports Hall of Fame (ASHOF) celebrates sport history and excellence and is dedicated to the recognition of the important place that sport has assumed within the fabric of Aurora. Every person who values the contribution of sport to our community and country is a part of that commemoration. More information is at

For ASHOF media information, contact:
Javed S. Khan
Chair, Aurora Sports Hall of Fame | 416-889-6069